Purpose of the Governing Body

Our Governing Body play and ever increasing role in the school.  The governing body is the school’s accountable body. It is responsible for the conduct of the school and for promoting high standards and as part of this governors would be expected to uphold and promote the fundamental principles of British values, including democracy, the rule of law, individual liberty and mutual respect and tolerance of those with different faiths and beliefs. Ultimately the governing body aims to ensure that children are attending a successful school which provides them with a good education and supports their well-being.
The governing body:
Sets the strategic direction of the school by:

  • Setting the vision, values, aims and objectives of the school;
  • Agreeing the policy framework for achieving those aims and objectives;
  • Setting targets;
  • Agreeing the school improvement strategy which includes setting the budget and the staffing structure.

Ensures accountability, by:

  • Appointing the Head Teacher – who will deliver the aims (through the day to day management of the school, implementation of the agreed policy framework and school improvement strategy, delivery of the curriculum and report appropriately to the governing body).
  • Monitoring progress towards targets
  • Performance managing the Head Teacher
  • Engaging with stakeholders
  • Contribution to school self-evaluation.


Head Teacher

Mrs Julie Sutton


Staff Governors

Mrs Clare Hall

Mrs Rebecca Rathmell


Parent Governors

Miss Leanne Wishart (From 18 November 2018)

Miss Sarah Heard (From 18 November 2018)


Community Governors

Mrs Margaret Madden (Chair)
Mrs Deborah Whitehead
Mr Colin Geddes (Vice Chair)
Mrs Richenda Broad



Mrs Louise Davies

Governors Details May 2019

Governor’s Pecuniary Interest Sept 2018


Governor Attendance 2018/2019

Trustees Meetings Attended Out of Possible
Mrs M Madden (Chair) 8 8
Mr C Geddes (Vice Chair) 5 5
Mrs D Whitehead 5 7
Mr D Burns 2 6
Mrs J Sutton 8 8
Mrs R Rathmell 8 8
Mrs C Hall 8 8
Miss S Heard 4 5
Mrs Broad 2 2
Miss Wishart 3 4

Attendance Details


Governor Attendance 2017/2018

Trustees Meetings Attended Out of Possible
Mrs M Madden (Chair) 10 10
Mr C Geddes (Vice Chair) 9 10
Mrs N Fox 8 10
Mr M Allen-Mulroy 1 1
Mrs S Lipthorpe 1 1
Mrs D Whitehead 8 10
Mr D Burns 8 10
Mrs H L Robinson 8 10
Mrs J Sutton 10 10
Mrs R Rathmell 4 4
Mrs C Hall 8 10


Governor Attendance 2016/2017

Trustees Meetings Attended Out of Possible
Mrs M Madden (Chair) 3 3
Mr C Geddes (Vice Chair) 3 3
Mrs N Fox 3 3
Mr M Allen-Mulroy 3 3
Mrs S Lipthorpe 2 3
Mrs K Edmenson 0 2
Mrs D Whitehead 3 3
Mrs S Welburn 1 3
Mr D Burns 3 3
Mrs H L Robinson 3 3
Mrs J Sutton 2 2
Mrs C Hall 1 1
Mrs G Holborn 1 1
Mrs R Parker 1 1